FM to lead high-powered Indian delegation to WEF

New Delhi, January 24: | Updated: Jan 25 2002, 05:30am hrs
Finance minister Yashwant Sinha will lead a high-powered Indian delegation, comprising 40 chief executive officers (CEOs) of leading Indian companies, to World Economic Forums (WEF) annual meeting being held in New York from January 31 to February 4. Andhra Pradesh chief minister Chandrababu Naidu and Planning Commission member NK Singh will also attend the summit alongwith Infosys chairman NR Narayana Murthy, Reliance Industries managing-director Anil Ambani, Wipro chairman Azim Premji, Bajaj Auto chairman and managing director Rahul Bajaj, UB group chairman Vijay Mallya and ITC chairman YC Deveshwar.

Mr Sinha will address the plenary session and speak on the global economic outlook. In an informal gathering later, the finance minister will discuss priorities for development and emerging market finance with public figures led by Canadians finance minister Paul Martin and special participation of select G-20, finance, foreign trade and development ministers, according to a press release issued by Confederation of Indian Industry (CII).

Mr Naidu will discuss the role and priorities of business, government, non-government organisation and international organisations in the use of technology to alleviate poverty.

India Business Council, formed by CII and WEF and comprising CEOs from India and abroad, will also hold its first meeting in New York. Other important events, related to India, will be CIIs Annual India Reception on February 2. World Trade Organisations (WTO) director-general designate Supachai Panitchpakdi, US department of states director of policy planning Richard Haass and more than 300 CEOs are expected to attend the reception. CII and The Asia Society will organise a luncheon meeting in honour of Mr Sinha, Mr Naidu and Indian delegation with a focus on second wave of economic reforms in India: Outlook 2002. On February 2, there will be a bilateral meeting between CII and the Canadian government.

Other prominent members of the Indian delegation at the WEF annual meet include Godrej Industries chairman Adi Godrej, ICICIs joint managing-director Lalita Gupte, Larsen & Toubro managing director AM Naik, Ballarpur Industries vice-chairman and managing-director Gautam Thapar, NIIT chairman Rajendra Pawar, TCS chairman S Ramadorai and Satyam Computer chairman Ramalinga Raju.