Election results 2014: Narendra Modi rewrites history, Rahul Gandhi concedes defeat while Sonia pins blame on herself

Written by Agencies | New Delhi | Updated: May 17 2014, 03:28am hrs
Narendra ModiNarendra Modi, BJP's prime ministerial candidate, gestures after seeking blessings from his mother in Gandhinagar. (Reuters)
Rewriting history, Narendra Modi today stormed to power at the Centre with a "triple century", putting the NDA on course for about 335 seats in the Lok Sabha and BJP an absolute majority on its own for the first time in an election that decimated Congress to its lowest ever tally.

Riding a strong anti-Congress wave, the 63-year-old Gujarat Chief Minister produced an astounding win for the BJP which attained a strong pan-India presence as never before.

NDA which comprises BJP and 24 smaller parties, scored a facile victory exceeding its own expectations as did the BJP which is projected to bag 282 seats in the 543-member Lok Sabha to become the first party in 30 years to get a majority on its own after Rajiv Gandhi's massive 400 plus victory in 1984.

Modi, who pledged to take everyone along in a victory speech, will arrive here tomorrow and is expected to be sworn in as India's 16th Prime Minister sometime next week. Nominees of some of his allies will find a place in the Modi cabinet which will be dominated by BJP.

A strong showing in the Hindi heartland, consisting of UP, Bihar, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Delhi, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand where the BJP won as many as 190 out of 225 seats led to the rout of not only the Congress but regional players such as SP, BSP, JD(U) and RJD.

BJP also swept Modi's home state of Gujarat and did exceedingly well in the crucial state of Maharashtra, Karnataka and Assam.

In the outgoing Lok Sabha, BJP had 116 members on a national voteshare of 18.8 per cent while Congress had 206 members with a voteshare of 28.55 per cent. In the current elections, BJP got a voteshare of 31.4 per cent against Congress' 19.5 per cent.

This time, Congress was virtually decimated as it bagged only 44 seats, its lowest tally ever. Party president Sonia Gandhi and Vice President Rahul Gandhi accepted responsibility for the defeat.

Riding the Modi wave, BJP has come a long way from a party of two Lok Sabha members in 1984. Even at the height of the popularity of Atal Bihari Vajpayee, it could manage to get only 182 in 1998 and 1999, on the back of Ayodhya movement.

The Congress found it difficult to cross the double digit mark in most of the states as BJP swept Gujarat (26), Rajasthan (25), Delhi (7), Uttarakhand (5), Himachal Pradesh (4) and Goa (2).

BJP also nearly swept the crucial heartland state of Uttar Pradesh where it bagged 16 seats and was ahead in 55 of the total 80 seats. Its ally Apna Dal was leading in two seats. All the other seats were won by two political families.

Only regional parties AIADMK, Trinamool Congress and BJD were able to stymie the saffron march in Tamil Nadu, West Bengal and Odisha, respectively.

AIADMK had won five seats and was leading in 32, while TMC had won 12 and was ahead in 22. BJD was set for a near sweep as it was leading in 19 of 21 seats.

Among the big wigs who won were Modi (from both Vadodara and Varanasi), Sonia Gandhi (Rae Bareli), Rahul Gandhi (Amethi) and Sushma Swaraj (Vidisha).

Even as his party was creating records, senior BJP leader Arun Jaitley was unlucky to suffer defeat at the hands of former Punjab Chief Minister and Congress candidate Amarinder Singh by a margin of 1,02,770 votes in Amritsar.

A bevy of heavyweights of Congress tasted defeat at the hustings. They included Union Ministers Sushilkumar Shinde, Kapil Sibal, Ajay Maken, Sriprakash Jaiswal, Salman Khurshid, C P Joshi, Sachin Pilot, Pallam Raju besides Speaker Meira Kumar. RLD chief Ajit Singh and NCP leader Praful Patel also lost.

BJP's Prime Ministerial candidate won by a huge margin of over 5,70,000 votes in Vadodara defeating Congress General Secretary Madhusudan Mistry whereas Sonia Gandhi retained her Rae Bareli seat by defeating BJP's Ajay Agrawal by over 3.5 lakh votes.

Senior BJP leader and Leader of Opposition in the 15th Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj won the Vidisha seat by a big margin of more than 4.10 lakh votes. She defeated Congress' Lakshman Singh in the contest.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kamal Nath was successful in retaining his Chhindwara seat where he defeated his BJP rival in Madhya Pradesh by a margin of 1.16 lakh votes.

While other Cabinet Ministers who won their seats include Oil Minister M Veerappa Moily from Chikkballapur and Jyotiraditya Scindia won from Guna by a margin of 1.20 lakh votes.

The father-son duo of Ramvilas Paswan and Chirag Paswan won their seats in Hajipur and Jamui constituencies respectively in Bihar.

BJP's rebel and former senior leader Jaswant Singh also lost from Barmer where he was defeated by Col Sonaram Chaudhary by over 80,000 votes.

Union Culture Minister Chandresh Katoch lost to her BJP rival Gajendra Singh Shekhawat by over four lakh votes from Jodhpur.