Election Commission of India identifies 255 'critical' polling stations in Chennai district

Written by PTI | Chennai | Updated: Mar 7 2014, 07:18am hrs
A total of 255 polling stations in Chennai district have been identified as 'critical' polling stations by Election Commission of India, says District Election Officer Vikram Kapur said here today.

While 122 are within Central Chennai constituency, another 88 and 45 critical polling stations are within South Chennai and North Chennai constituencies respectively, he said.

Election Commission of India was using the term 'critical' to replace 'sensitive' polling stations, Tamil Nadu Chief Electoral Officer Praveen Kumar had said earlier.

A total of 3,388 polling stations will be set up across the city, covering three -- North, Central and South Chennai constituencies, in which 36,36,199 voters, including 18,13,076 men, 18,22,461 women and 662 transgenders are set to vote on April 24.

Chennai district has the highest number of voters in Tamil Nadu with 36,36,199 voters, while Ariyalur district has the lowest at 4,67,586.

Kapur said those wishing to include their names in the electoral rolls have to submit their filled up Form 6 from March 9 and complete the process within March 25.

Posters, hoardings and other displays by the government and other political parties would be immediately removed, he said.