Dixit, Premji, Shahrukh get Padma honours

New Delhi, Jan 25 | Updated: Jan 26 2005, 05:30am hrs
Former national security advisor J N Dixit, Wipro chairman Azim Premji, cine superstar Shahrukh Khan, film-maker Yash Chopra, cricketer Anil Kumble and vice-chairperson of Hindustan Times Shobhana Bhartia are among a galaxy 96 personalities who have been chosen for this years Padma awards.

Dixit, who died earlier this month after a distinguished career as a diplomat, is among the list of nine persons drawn from diverse fields including medicine, trade, public affairs, social works and art, who have been selected for Padma Vibhushan title.

Other winners of Padma Vibhushan include cartoonist R K Laxman, attorney general Milon Kumar Benerji, senior Congress leader and scholar Karan Singh, former socialist leader Mohan Dharia and Dr Bal Krishan Goyal for medicine.

Premji, one of the names synonymous with the worldwide fame of Indias IT sector, veteran playback singer Manna Dey, whose voice has delighted listeners across generations, producer-director Yash Chopra, known as the undisputed king of romantic bollywood movies and noted journalist Mark Tully are among the prominent 30 Padma Bhushan awardees.

Former Jammu and Kashmir governor G C Saxena and late state chief minister Syed Mir Qassim, noted historians Romila Thapar and Irfan Habib, known for their pro-Left leanings were are among other recipients of Padma Bhushan.

In the media field, Hindustan Times vice-chairperson Shobhana Bhartia and Malayala Manorama Editor Mammen Mathew were awarded Padma Shri, which has also been given to five sports personalisties including cricketer Anil Kumble, who recently became Indias highest test wicket-taker.