Common test for national law schools on May 11

Written by C Jayanthi | New Delhi, Jan 25 | Updated: Jan 26 2008, 05:12am hrs
For the first time in the country, a common entrance examination will be held for all national law schools on May 11. Now, students need to take just one test for all these schools.

The University Grants Commission and the ministry of human resources development asked vice-chancellors of the seven national law schools late last year to work out modalities of the common admission test, said A Jayagovind, vice-chancellor of National Law School of India University, Bangalore.

The move is a sequel to a PIL filed in the Supreme Court in 2006 by one Varuna Bhagat, who alleged that taking multiple entrance examinations caused stress. The apex court had then directed the Union government, UGC and the law schools to sort out the matter.

The common law admission test will be held for National Law School of India University, Bangalore; NALSAR University of Law, Hyderabad; National Law University, Jodhpur; National Law Institute University, Bhopal; Hidayatullah National Law University, Raipur and Gujarat National Law University, Ahmedabad.