Colaba-SEEPZ Metro Line attracts 14 domestic and international firms

Written by fe Bureau | Mumbai | Updated: Mar 11 2014, 02:00am hrs
Mumbai metroThis project is being undertaken on EPC model, with close to Rs 13,000 crore of funding from Japan government's JICA. Reuters
The first fully underground metro line of Mumbai, running from Colaba in the south to SEEPZ in the north via Bandra, has attracted interest from 14 national and international companies in the pre-qualification round for the over Rs 23,000 crore project.

The firms that have shown interest in designing and constructing underground stations and associated tunnels for the project, also the metro line-3, include a joint venture of Indian engineering major Larsen and Toubro (L&T) and China-based STEC, Hindustan Construction Company (HCC) along with Russian firm Mosmetrostroy, Chinese firm China Tiesiju Civil Engineering Group Co. Ltd (CTCEG) along with PIIPL, Indian firm AFCONS Infrastructure along with foreign company KMB, Taiwanese Continental Engineering Corp (CEC) along with Indian company ITD Cementation India Ltd (ITDCEM) and TPL, Turkish firm Dogus Construction and Trade Inc along with Indian engineering and construction firm Soma Enterprises Ltd, and consortium of Essar along with Sacyr CMC, among others.

Positive net worth calculated as the difference between total assets and total liabilities for the last five years and average annual construction turnover of not less than $175 million for the last five years were two of the many qualification criterions as far as the bids are concerned, said a statement from Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA).

Evaluation of the bids is expected to be completed within a period of 90 days, the statement added.

This project is being undertaken on EPC (enginnering, procurement and construction) model, with close to Rs 13,000 crore of funding from Japan government's Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA). In September 2013, an agreement for the first tranche of around Rs 4,700 crore was signed between JICA and government of India.

Mumbai Metro line-3 is a 32.5 km long underground corridor and will have 26 stations, which are Cuffe Parade, Vidhan Bhavan, Churchgate, Hutatma Chowk, CST Metro, Kalbadevi, Girgaon, Grant Road, Mumbai Central, Mahalaxmi Metro, Science Museum, Acharya Atre Chowk, Worli, Siddhi Vinayak, Dadar Metro, Shitaladevi Temple, Dharavi, BKC Metro, Vidya Nagari, Santacruz, Chhatrapati Shivaji Airport (Domestic), Sahar Road, Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport, Marol Naka, MIDC and SEEPZ.