BJP drubs Raj Thackeray in Nashik, snatches away all seats

Written by Press Trust of India | Nashik | Updated: Oct 19 2014, 21:40pm hrs
The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has wrested all the three seats from Raj Thackeray's MNS in Nashik city.

Nashik-Central's sitting MNS legislator Vasant Gite was defeated by BJP's Devyani Pharande by a margin of 28,272 votes. Gite polled 33,276 votes while Pharande won by securing 61,548 votes.

In Nashik-West, BJP's state unit general secretary Seema Mahesh Hiray won the seat by polling 67,489 votes.

Sitting MNS legislator Nitin Bhosale stood at the sixth place by getting a mere 8,712 votes.

Former Mayor Balasaheb Sanap of BJP, won the Nashik-East seat by defeating MNS legislator Ramesh Dhongade.

Sanap polled 78,941 votes while Dhongade stood at the fifth place with 12,488 votes.

In Devlali constituency, reserved for scheduled cast, former state social welfare minister Babanrao Gholap's son Yogesh Baban Gholap of Shiv Sena won by polling 49,751 votes.

In Kalwan constituency, sitting NCP MLA Arjun Tulshiram Pawar was defeated by CPI(M) candidate Jiva Pandu Gavit.

Gavit got 67,795 votes while Pawar polled 63,009.

In Baglan, former NCP legislator Sanjay Chavan's wife Dipika Sanjay Chavan wrested the seat from BJP's sitting MLA Umaji Manglu Borse. Dipika polled 68,434 votes while Umaji got 64,253 votes.

The winning candidates of other constituencies in Nashik district are: Yeola- Chhagan Bhujbal (NCP), Nandgaon- Pankaj Bhujbal (NCP), Dindori- Narahari Zirwal (NCP), Niphad- Anil Kadam (Shiv Sena), Sinnar- Parag Waje (Shiv Sena), Igatpuri- Nirmala Gavit (Congress), Chandwad- Dr Rahul Aher (BJP), Malegaon (outer)- Dadaji Bhuse (Shiv Sena), Malegaon (central)- Sheikh Asif Sheikh Rashid (Congress).

Out of the total 15 seats in Nashik, BJP, Shiv Sena and NCP have won 4 seats each, Congress-2 and CPI(M)-1.