Mamata Banerjee

Asansol violence: Toll mounts to 5 with two more killings, Babul Supriyo booked for violating prohibitory orders

The two persons killed yesterday have been identified as Sibtullah, 17, and Pratima Devi, 45. While three deaths were reported from West Burdwan, one each from Purulia and North 24-Parganas.

Kolkata HC permits Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh rally, Mohan Bhagwat will be there to attend

Calcutta HC allows RSS to hold rally to be attended by Mohan Bhagwat at Brigade Parade Ground in Kolkata on January 14.

Mamata Banerjee writes to Narendra Modi over allocation of kerosene

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee today wrote to Prime Minister Narendra Modi urging him to reconsider the decision to reduce allocation of kerosene to the state.

Suresh Prabhu urges state govts to join hands with Railways

Stating that West Bengal occupies a "strategic position" in the country, Prabhu said the ministry would help with its resources for the development of the state.

Mamata Banerjee optimistic on GST, unhappy with smart city

The state government has handed over a concept plan to develop Rajarhat New Town as a 'smart green city' to the Union Urban Development ministry. The plan has been prepared by the National Institute of Smart Governance (NISG)

Mamata ticks off Centre for ‘increasing tax burden’ on people

After the first administrative review meeting of the new government, Banerjee said she had given instructions to restart all development work which had remained stalled for the last few months due to the Assembly polls.

Bengal wants Centre not to make Aadhar mandatory for MNREGA

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee will write to the Centre asking it not to make Aadhar cards mandatory for those working under the MNREGA scheme.

Mamata Banerjee for debate on state funding of West Bengal elections

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee today said there should be a debate on subjects of state funding of elections, electoral reforms and financial reforms.

West Bengal: Focus will be to carry forward development agenda, says Mamata Banerjee

Beginning her second innings as West Bengal Chief Minister, Mamata Banerjee today said that in the coming days her government's focus would be on the young generation...

Lalu Prasad, Farooq Abdullah want to create “federal front” to challenge BJP; Mamata Banerjee supports idea

Leaders of some non-BJP and non-Congress parties have suggested formation of a "federal front" at the Centre to challenge the BJP.

Mamata Banerjee takes oath as West Bengal Chief Minister along with 42 other ministers

Trinamool Congress Chief Mamata Banerjee took oath as he Chief Minister of West Bengal today. TMC on May 19 had put up a stunning victory in West Bengal Assembly Elections 2016 by winning 211 seats out of a total of 294.

BJP to boycott Mamata Banerjee’s swearing-in, Arun Jaitley to attend

Alleging post-poll violence in West Bengal, the state BJP today said it would boycott the swearing in of Mamata Banerjee as Chief Minister here tomorrow, even as some Union ministers, including Arun Jaitley, would attend the

Narendra Modi, Sonia Gandhi, Lalu Prasad Yadav likely to be invited for Mamata Banerjee’s swearing-in

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Congress President Sonia Gandhi are most likely to be invited for the swearing-in ceremony of West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee for her second tenure on May 27.

Forget Congress-bashing, focus on Mamata’s support for GST

Instead of finding faults with the Congress party, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Finance Minister Arun Jaitley need to focus on garnering support from the non-NDA parties to push critical reform legislations, including the

Trinamool Congress’s stunning performance achieved against all odds

The failure of the Left-Congress alliance to make an impact and Mamata Banerjee's emphasis on development helped the Trinamool Congress script a stunning victory in Assembly polls in West Bengal, winning 211 of the 294 seats,


Focal Point



Related Articles

Switch to Hindi Edition