1. Out or Not? Batsman’s middle stump uprooted, but bizarrely, bails stay firmly in place

Out or Not? Batsman’s middle stump uprooted, but bizarrely, bails stay firmly in place

Cricket has a funny way of pulling off surprises. But here is an instance that stands totally apart.

By: | Published: May 10, 2017 4:58 PM
cricket bizzare incident, australia cricket incient, stups uprooted but bails remain intact, cricket stumps uprooted To be precise a bowler managed to uproot the batsman’s middle stump, but the bails stay intact and firmly in place. (Facebook)

Cricket has a funny way of pulling off surprises. But here is an instance that stands totally apart. Here is what happened. To be precise a bowler managed to uproot the batsman’s middle stump, but the bails stay intact and firmly in place. Such a bizarre dismissal happened on Saturday and put under question the entire “clean bowled” dismissal rule of the game. This happened to a batsman named Jatinder Singh who was playing for Moonee Valley against Strathmore Heights in the Mid-Year Cricket Association match. Unfortunately for him, the umpire declared him out, despite his bails remaining undisturbed on their perch on top of the off and leg stumps – the middle stump lay far away near the wicket-keeper.

This led to a massive debate in the cricketing community about whether his dismissal was the right decision or not. According to the Indian Express, Jatinder Singh’s captain, Michael Ozbun said that nobody had seen anything as bizarre as this before and even the umpires officiating in the match were left confused. The Australian media, meanwhile also confirmed the reports saying, “There was a little bit of debate and the umpire was a bit confused as well.” Narrating the strange incident, Ozbun said he saw the stump flying away while he was at the boundary ropes. He saw Singh getting clean bowled and admits to having thought about the silly shot the batsman had played.

Then everybody was standing around the wickets and I didn’t know why. I went out there, saw what was going on and it was very confusing.”, he added. Ozbun further said that despite the terrible confusion, both the teams decided that Singh should be declared out. He said, “We had no idea what the actual ruling on it was, but we all admired it for a few minutes.” The captain also said that one probably could not do that again even if they tried. He added that the teams weren’t sure if the steps had been put at a slight angle resulting in a bit of a pressure. The bails were sitting on the stumps and were in the grooves. “It wasn’t like the bails were above the stumps or anything”, he said.

  1. No Comments.

Go to Top