Corporate Results of over 2500 companies Wednesday, January 26, 2000
fesub.gif (4328 bytes)
Full Story
fe.gif (834 bytes) flnews.gif (5153 bytes)
Search FE
-
Download
BSE Quotes
NSE Quotes
-
Think Tank
This week we focus on a complete analysis of the
derivatives industry
-
 

FAR-EAST Corporate Database -- Killing several birds with one stone 

Sarad Saraf  
Looking for information on Grasim Industries? If you have access to the Internet, perhaps the easiest way to go about getting the information is to open your browser and type "www.grasim.com". This is after all a relatively large company and surely it would have a web presence. And sure enough, when you do so, you do not get the message "DNS entry not found". So, you must be on the right track. However, when in a few seconds, the words "FAR-EAST Corporate Database" stare at you in the face, you realise that it could not possibly be Grasim Industries' home page.

What's wrong? Has the site been registered by somebody else? To check, you go to "www.tisco.com". From previous experience, you know that the site has nothing to do with the Tatas. It is, in fact, a site that allows you to register your own domain names and check whether a particular domain name is available. If the name that you are looking for has already been registered by somebody else, you can get the details of the registrant. So you type in "grasim" and choose the extension "com". The screen reads, "Domain is grasim.com. Domain is taken." You already know that. So you read further, "Registrant: Grasim Industries Ltd."

If you were to go the URL "www.merind.com" or to "www.capitaline.com", you would reach the same page as you did when you went to "www.grasim.com". You would easily realise that the content that you see is actually meant to be at the URL "www.capitaline.com". But for some unknown reason, it is also accessible through other names. Are there any other names that take you to the same page, you wonder? You decide to run a search on "capitaline" and for this, you go to "www.khoj.com". After all, this happens to be an "Indian search-engine". The results bring forth one more likely candidate and that is "www.mpchronicle.com". But it is futile to try accessing this URL for it takes you nowhere.

The registrants for "www.merind.com" and "www.mpchronicle.com", by the way, are Merind Limited and The Navbharat Group. Merind, of course, is now a part of Wockhardt. The common string that runs through all of "www.grasim.com", "www.merind.com", "www.mpchronicle.com" and "www.khoj.com" is Rajesh Jain of the IndiaWorld fame. While khoj is one of the properties that he sold to Satyam Infoway, the others are sites that are serviced by him. He is the administrative contact for all these sites.

That aside, the intention with which you logged on to "www.grasim.com" is served. The FAR-EAST Corporate Database allows you access to information regarding a large number of companies in the region. Only it is not free.

Copyright © 2000 Indian Express Newspapers (Bombay) Ltd.

- Lead Stories | Corporate | Infrastructure | Commodities | Economy/Finance | BSE Today | NSE/ Markets | Strategy | Convergence | After Hours top.gif (150 bytes)Top
flame.jpg (1068 bytes) © Copyright 1999: Indian Express Newspaper(Bombay) Ltd. All rights reserved throughout the world.
This entire edition is compiled in Mumbai by The Indian Express Online Media Limited, a division of
The Indian Express Group of Newspapers. Managed by The Indian Express Online Media Limited and hosted by CerfNet.