Instagram has launched some new features for its users. The popular Facebook-owned image share application will allow users to manage the privacy of their videos and photos. The new features are for Instagram Direct and will allow users to manage privacy control for videos and photos that they send via private messages. The new Allow Replay, Keep in Chat and View Once features will give the users the power to set different privacy options for different contacts. Although the new privacy features came to light now, it has been there in the app for a while- the View Once and Allow Replay were released in November last year, while the Keep in Chat was launched last month.
What is Instagram Direct?
Instagram Direct is the feature that Instagram users can use for private chat with their contacts using pictures, videos and links. It is quite similar to Snapchat’s message section. However, a user can only view the images, links and videos just once, with an option to replay it for the second time. Once that is done, the message automatically destroys itself.
Although one can imagine that Instagram’s disappearing private messages can be contemplated to be an idea borrowed from Snapchat, the new feature on Instagram gives a little more leverage to the users after the criticism Snapchat is facing for its latest update.
Meanwhile, Snapchat recently added GIF option to its database after partnering with GIPHY. This came a few weeks after the Facebook-owned app got the feature.
Interestingly, Instagram was spotted testing a new feature that notifies the uploader when a screenshot is taken of their post, similar to Snapchat. However, Instagram reportedly is not expected to send notification of the screenshot but will put it in the viewers’ section for the user to check it later.