With the release of the Google Allo, the multi-billion dollar company seems to have backed down from a few of the security features it had promised during the launch. When Allo was launched at the annual Google I/O conference this year, the app was a promise in terms of improving the privacy of the users. Though, the new version that rolled out on Wednesday is to store all the incognito messages permanently by default.
This is in stark difference do the company’s earlier statements which had suggested that the app would store these messages in an unidentifiable form. These messages will now keep on showing until the user chooses to delete them, which gives Google complete access to the complete history of the conversations. Though the user can avoid it by using the incognito mode provided in the app, which remains unchanged as per the original announcement.
According to Google, these changes were considered to improve Apple’s automatic reply feature, which generates replies based on the user’s most used choice of words in the conversations. This works better when the user gets into more conversations and google finds it way into more data, thus making the customisation process a lot better.
And when the Allo team tested this feature, they came to a conclusion that the boost in the performance of this feature from the permanently stored messages was worth sacrificing the privacy benefits of the users.