1. BJP takes UP, Uttarakhand

BJP takes UP, Uttarakhand

Led by PM Narendra Modi and Amit Shah, BJP is all set to sweep Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh with a massive majority.

By: | Noida | Updated: March 11, 2017 10:35 AM
narendra modi, pm modi, modi, modi shah, uttar pradesh, amit shah, uttar pradesh assembly election result, up election result, up result, uttarakhand election result, uttarakhand result, assembly election result, modi wave Narendra Modi powered BJP to a historic win in Uttar Pradesh. (Source: narendramodi.in

It looks almost certain that the Bharatiya Janata Party will sweep Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh with a massive majority. As per the counting of votes until 10.OO am, the BJP was leading in 274 out of 403 seats in Uttar Pradesh, while in Uttarakhand it was leading in 56 seats out of 70. The initial leads have reaffirmed Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s popularity and BJP president Amit Shah’s ability to make fool-proof election strategy on most of the occasion.   The debacle of Akhilesh Yadav and Rahul Gandhi-led Samajwadi Party-Congress combine in surprising, even as a few exit polls had predicted similar results. Until 10.00 am, SP+Congress combine was leading in just 80 seats, while Mayawati’s BSP was leading in only 28 seats.

The election result will certainly force all opposition parties to check their strategies and what went wrong. During the campaign, the opposition parties tended to attack Modi on trivial issues which didn’t go well with the voters.

In the last elections, BJP had won just over 50 seats in the 403-member Uttar Pradesh Assembly. The party, however, has not yet declared its CM candidate. In Uttar Pradesh, counting is taking place in 78 centres across 75 districts.  In Uttarakhand, the counting of votes is taking place at 15 centres across the state.

During the election campaign, many national figures like PM Narendra Modi, Amit Shah and Rajnath Singh visited the state for promoting their party on several occasions. On the other hand, local leaders like Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav also did a very aggressive campaign.

In 2012, Samajwadi Party got a clear mandate by winning 224 seats while Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party finished second with 80 seats. Counting of votes started at 8 AM today.

(With ANI inputs)

Get latest news and updates on Auto Expo 2018, check breaking news on Budget 2018, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

  1. S
    Mar 11, 2017 at 5:39 am
    the victory is for Mr. Modi's talk on development and not to communal poltics. If he can rein in his so called swamijis in the party, he can conquer the country. Indians want development and not more temples., mosques etc..

    Go to Top