Telangana Assembly polls: Telangana Rashtra Samithi wins 50 seats, K Chandrashekar Rao set for CM's chair

Written by PTI | Hyderabad | Updated: May 16 2014, 21:53pm hrs
Telangana Rashtra SamithiTelangana Rashtra Samithi's K Chandrashekar Rao set to fulfill dream, be chief minister. (Reuters)
Telangana Rashtra Samithi has bagged 50 seats and is leading in 13 other segments as it inches towards the magic figure of 60 in the 119-member Assembly in Telangana - K Chandrashekar Rao set to fulfill dream, be chief minister.

Congress has got 10 seats and is leading in an equal number, while BJP-TDP combine have secured seven seats and is ahead in 16 other segments.

Many Congress leaders fell by the way side, including TPCC president Ponnala Lakshmaiah who lost by more than 40,000 votes.

Among the TRS winners are K Taraka Rama Rao, who emerged victorious in Sircilla in Karimnagar district with a margin of over 49,035 votes.

Etela Rajender (TRS) won from Huzurabad with a margin of over 56,000 votes against his nearest rival K Sudhakar Reddy of Congress.

In Medak, M Padma Devender Reddy of TRS defeated actor-turned politician Vijayashanti by over 39,000 votes.

Ch Madan Reddy of TRS won by over 14,000 votes against former minister V Sunitha Laxma Reddy (Congress) in Narsapur.

The party nominee Konda Surekha won the Warangal (east) seat, trouncing her nearest rival former minister B Saraiah of Congress by over 20,000 votes.