Lok sabha polls 2014: Over 28 percent voting in Bihar

Written by PTI | Patna | Updated: Apr 10 2014, 21:52pm hrs
Lok Sabha electionsVoting for six Lok Sabha seats in Bihar commenced under the shadow of violence as Maoists killed two CRPF jawans and injured seven others when they were on their way to polling stations of Jamui constituency in Munger district. (AP)
A total of 28 per cent votes were cast till noon in the six Parliamentary constituencies in Bihar that went to polls today even as voting has been put off for a later date in 22 polling stations in Maoist-hit areas due to security reasons.

Election Commission in a statement said Sasaram(SC) seat registered 31 per cent polling in the first five hours, while neighbouring Karakat recorded 30 per cent votes.

Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar is the Congress candidate in the seat.

Aurangabad saw 23 per cent voting till 12 pm while it was 34.27 per cent in Gaya(SC), 25 per cent in Nawada and 25 per cent in Jamui(SC), the statement said.

Voting has been put off for a future date in 22 polling stations of Jamui (SC) and Nawada seats due to security reasons in the Maoist-hit areas.

The statement said the future date of polling in these polling stations - 20 under Jamui(SC) and two under Nawada seat and would be notified later.

Besides Meira Kumar, former Kerala governor Nikhil Kumar, Bihar Speaker Uday Narayan Choudhary, President of Rashtriya Lok Samata Party Upendra Kushwaha, and Chirag Paswan, actor-politician son of Lok Janashakti Party chief Ramvilas Paswan are prominent candidates trying their luck in the six seats.