Narendra Modi juggernaut demolishes Congress in Gujarat Lok Sabha election; historical wash out

Written by Press Trust of India | Updated: May 17 2014, 04:27am hrs
The Narendra Modi juggernaut today bulldozed Congress in Gujarat as for the first time in its electoral history the party could not win a single seat in the state in the recently held Lok Sabha election for which the results were declared today.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won all the 26 Lok Sabha constituencies in the home state of Modi, BJP's Prime Ministerial candidate. Twenty-four of its candidates won by one lakh-plus margins.

Modi himself won by a margin of 5.70 lakh votes from Vadodara seat. Thanking the people of Vadodara, Modi claimed it was a record margin for the general elections so far.

Veteran BJP leader L K Advani also won by more than 4.63 lakh votes from Gandhinagar. Remarkably, in 2009, Advani, then the Prime Ministerial candidate of BJP, had won by 1.21 lakh votes from the same seat.

For the first time, Congress could not win a single Lok Sabha seat in Gujarat. In 2009, the party had won 11 seats.

Three Congress union ministers, Dinsha Patel, Tushar Chaudhary and Bharat Solanki, were among those who bit the dust, apart from the party's general secretary Madhusudan Mistry (in Vadodara) and leader of opposition in the state assembly Shankarsinh Vaghela.

The party, which was already demoralised due to successive defeats in state assembly polls, was today completely trounced.

Gujarat Congress president Arjun Modhwadia accepted the defeat but remained silent as to whether he will resign taking a moral responsibility.

BJP's Darshna Jardosh won from Surat by 5.33 lakh votes, while C R Patil won by 5.58 lakh votes in Navsari.

Only in two seats, the victory margin of BJP candidates fell below one lakh. In Sabarkantha, BJP's Dipsinh Rathod defeated Shankersinh Vaghela by 84,455 votes and in Anand, Dilip Patel of BJP defeated Bharat Solanki by 63,426 votes.

Modi addressed impressive victory rallies in Vadodara and then in Ahmedabad, thanking the people of the state for the overwhelming mandate.