Montek puts in papers, other members to follow

Written by PTI | New Delhi | Updated: May 19 2014, 02:35am hrs
Planning Commission deputy chairman Montek Singh Ahluwalia on Saturday resigned while the other members are in the process of putting in their papers.

Ahluwalia submitted his resignation to PM Manmohan Singh after the Union Cabinets meeting in Delhi. Another member, BK Chat-urvedi, also resigned. "The deputy chairman has put in his papers. I don't know about other members but I have resigned," Chaturvedi said.

Besides Ahluwalia, full-time members are Chaturvedi, Saumitra Chaudhuri, Syeda Hameed, Narendra Jadhav, Abhijit Sen, Mihir Shah, K Kasturirangan and Arun Maira. All panel members submit resignations to the PM who heads the institution.

The panel drafted the 12th Plan (2012-17) which envisages annual average growth of 8% in the policy period.