Lok Sabha: 71.86 per cent turnout in Haryana

Written by PTI | Chandigarh | Updated: Apr 13 2014, 02:34am hrs
Haryana recorded 71.86 per cent turnout in the Lok Sabha elections held for the ten seats from the state on Thursday.

According to the latest figures available now, the total voting percentage is 71.86 for the 10 Lok Sabha seats as against 67.94 per cent in 2009, the state election department said today.

As per preliminary estimates available on Thursday, the poll body had said that close to 73 per cent of the over 1.6 crore eligible voters including nearly 74 lakh women had exercised their franchise.

"While the overall voting percentage is 71.86, the total percentage of women voters is 70 as against 66.17 per cent in 2009," Haryana Chief Electoral Officer, Shrikant Walgad said.

Sirsa constituency registered the highest polling of 77.11 per cent, followed by Hisar and Kurukshetra with 76.52 per cent and 76.05 per cent, respectively, he said.

During the Lok Sabha elections in 2009, the highest polling of 75.29 per cent was registered by Kurukshetra constituency followed by Sirsa with 75.01 per cent and Bhiwani-Mahendergarh with 72.53 per cent, he said.

"This time, Ambala constituency registered 72.34 per cent, Gurgaon 72.14 per cent, Karnal 71.07 per cent, Bhiwani-Mahendergarh 71.03 per cent, Sonipat 69.87 per cent, Rohtak 67.71 per cent and Faridabad 65.18 per cent polling," he said.

Among the assembly segments, Kalanwali recorded the highest polling with 80.88 per cent followed by Ellenabad and Rania with 80.76 per cent and 80.51 per cent, respectively.

The highest voter turnout in the Lok Sabha elections from Haryana was in 1977 with 73.26 per cent. During 2009 polls, it was 67.94 per cent and in 2004 it was 65.72 per cent.

Walgad said this time women in Sirsa recorded the highest polling with 75.75 per cent whereas Hisar and Kurukshetra were at second and third place with 75.14 per cent and 75.04 per cent, respectively.

From Sirsa Lok Sabha seat, Haryana Congress President Ashok Tanwar is seeking re-election.

The poll was a four-cornered contest among candidates of Congress, BJP-HJC combine, main opposition Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) and new entrant Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) for the 10 Lok Sabha seats in Haryana.

In Haryana, the key candidates among a total of 230 whose fate has been sealed in the EVMs include industrialist Naveen Jindal, Deepender Hooda, Avtar Singh Bhadana, Shruti Chaudhry (Congress), former Union Minister Rao Inderjit Singh (BJP) and Yogendra Yadav of AAP.