In long overdue shuffle, 23 senior cops transferred

Written by Express news service | New Delhi | Updated: Jun 9 2014, 10:55am hrs
Transfer orders of 23 senior Delhi police officers, that were delayed due to the Lok Sabha elections, were finally issued on June 3. The shuffle a routine procedure was long overdue, police said.

Among those transferred are four Special Commissioners. Among them, Muktesh Chandra, a 1988-batch IPS officer, who was the Joint Commissioner (PM Security), has been promoted. He has replaced Mohd Taj Hassan, a 1987-batch IPS officer and former Special Commissioner (Traffic), who is now Special Commissioner (Crime).

SBK Singh, a 1988-batch IPS officer, who was Joint Commissioner (Crime), has been promoted to Special Commissioner (Intelligence). Another 1988-batch IPS officer Shivangami Sundari, who was Joint Commissioner (Vigilance), is now Special Commissioner (Operations).

Three Additional Commissioners have also been promoted to the post of Joint Commissioners. Paldan, a 1996-batch IPS officer, who was Additional Commissioner (PCR) is now Joint Commissioner (PM Security). 1995-batch IPS officer Ravindra Singh Yadav and 1996-batch IPS officer Anil Shukla, have been made Joint Commissioners in the same units.

Other officers shuffled include Sunil Garg, a 1992-batch IPS officer, who was earlier the Joint Commissioner (Rashtrapati Bhavan). He is now the Joint Commissioner (Operations). Amit Roy, a 1995-batch DANIPS officer, who was Deputy Commissioner of Police (Rashtrapati Bhavan) is now Deputy Commissioner of Police (Security). Satish Golcha, a 1992-batch IPS officer is now Joint Commissioner of the Economic Offences Wing.

The transfers have nothing to do with the new government. They were long overdue and done under routine procedure, Delhi Police spokesperson, Rajan Bhagat said.