HSGPC office bearers elected

Written by PTI | Kurukshetra | Updated: Jul 27 2014, 01:20am hrs
A congregation of Haryana Sikhs today elected Jagdish Singh Jhinda and Didar Singh Nalvi, who spear headed the movement for the formation of separate SGPC for the state, as the President and Senior Vice President respectively of the newly notified 41-member ad hoc HSGPC.

The congregation was held at a Dera Baba Charan Singh.

Jhinda and Nalvi requested that Akal Takht, the highest temporal seat of Sikhs in Amritsar, to bless the Haryana SGPC.

Harpal Singh Palli, Jagir Singh Yamunanagar, Bhupinder Singh Assandh and Harpal Singh Palli were elected as Vice President, General Secretary and Joint Secretary respectively.

Six members of the Executive Committee were also elected. They are Jagtar Singh Mathoda, Avtar Singh Chako, Mohajit Singh, Swaran Singh, Baba Gurmit Singh and Baljit Singh.

Deputy Commissioner of Kurukshetra Nikhil Gajraj was oversaw the conduct of the elections of office bearers to the ad-hoc HSGPC.

Former President of the Delhi Sikh Gurdwara Management Committee (DSGMC) P S Sarna was also present at the congregation.

Haryana Assembly at its session here on July 11 passed the Haryana Sikh Gurdwara Management Bill 2014 to which the outgoing Governor Jagan Nath Pahadia gave his assent on July 14 despite opposition from SGPC leaders from Punjab.

Later the state government constituted a 41-member ad hoc Committee which would remain in place till the time elections to the HSGPC are not held.

The elections will be held after the finalisation of the electoral rolls and the entire process culminating in election of members of the HSGPC is to be completed within 18 months.