Election results 2014: Congress, NPF lead in 2 seats in Manipur, BJP far behind

Written by PTI | Imphal | Updated: May 16 2014, 16:13pm hrs
Manipur seemed to be an exception to the BJP wave that was sweeping across the country with its candidates in the two seats in the state trailing far behind their respective rivals.

As per the trends available by 10 AM, the party's candidate in the Inner Manipur Parliamentary constituency RK Ranjan Singh was in third spot with 20,991 votes far behind Congress' sitting MP Thockchom Meinya who was leading with 65,266 votes.

CPI candidate Moirangthem Nara Singh was in the second spot with 37,971 votes.

In the Outer Manipur Parliamentary constituency BJP candidate Gangmumei Kamei was in 4th spot polling just 3,916 votes counted so far.

Naga People's Front's Soso Lorho was leading from the constituency with 39,538 votes against sitting Congress' sitting MP Thangso Baite who had garnered 23,479 votes counted so far.