Election results 2014: All Congress Union Ministers trounced in Andhra Pradesh

Written by PTI | Hyderabad | Updated: May 17 2014, 03:03am hrs
All Union Ministers belonging to the Congress suffered humiliating defeats today as the party was decimated in the Lok Sabha elections in Andhra Pradesh.

Kishore Chandra Deo (Araku), M M Pallam Raju (Kakinada), Killi Kruparani (Srikakulam), Panabala Lakshmi (Bapatla) and Kotla Suryaprakash Reddy (Kurnool) lost their seats to their Telugu Desam and YSR Congress rivals.

Another former Union Minister Daggubati Purandeswari, who contested as the BJP candidate from Rajampet in Kadapa district, also faced defeat by a margin of over one lakh votes.

Compounding the misery of YSR Congress, that was trounced in the AP Assembly polls, its honorary president and president Y S Jaganmohan Reddy's mother, Y S Vijayamma, lost to BJP state president Kambhampati Hari Babu by a margin of over 60,000 votes in Visakhapatnam.

Giving a shocker to former Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy, who vehemently fought against the bifurcation of the state and launched the Jai Samaikyaandhra Party on the united state platform, his younger brother Kishan Kumar Reddy lost in their native Piler constituency in Chittoor district.

Kiran opted out of the electoral battle and fielded his brother at the last minute but could not escape the humiliation.

All the Congress bigwigs, including its AP committee chief N Raghuveera Reddy, were mauled in the elections.

Former Finance Minister Anam Ramanarayana Reddy faced such a humiliating defeat in his native Atmakuru Assembly constituency that he lost his security deposit.

Former Speaker of Legislative Assembly Nadendla Manohar could not score a hat-trick as he was trounced in Tenali.

Former minister Galla Aruna Kumari, who joined TDP along with her industrialist-son Jayadev, faced defeat in their home constituency Chandragiri in Chittoor district.

But Jayadev, who made his political debut, won the Guntur Lok Sabha seat.

Former minister and former PCC president Botsa Satyanarayana's entire family had to bite the dust in their native Vizianagaram district, considered their fiefdom.

While Botsa lost the Assembly election from Cheepurupalle, his wife and MP Jhansi Rani was trounced in Vizianagaram parliamentary seat. Botsa's brother Appala Narasaiah and nephew Appalanaidu also lost the Assembly elections.

There was mixed luck for some former ministers who jumped to other parties from the Congress.

Thota Narasimham (TDP) beat Pallam Raju for the Kakinada Lok Sabha seat.

Former minister T G Venkatesh, who switched over to the TDP, could not escape defeat in Kurnool Assembly constituency.

His colleague from Kurnool district Erasu Pratap Reddy, who too joined the TDP, was defeated in Panyam.

Former ministers K Parthasarathy and P Viswarupu, who contested the Lok Sabha elections as YSRC nominees from Machilipatnam and Amalapuram respectively, faced defeat.

Former ministers Satrucharla Vijaya Rama Raju and Dharmana Prasada Rao, who contested on behalf of TDP and YSRC respectively from Srikakulam district, lost.

Luck did not favour Kondru Murali, another former minister from the district who stayed on in the Congress.

Former minister Ganta Srinivasa Rao, who returned to his parent TDP, got lucky as he bagged the Bhimili Assembly seat.

Another former minister P Balaraju was relegated to the third position in Paderu constituency in Visakhapatnam district.

Pithani Satyanarayana, who joined the TDP at the last minute, scored a hat-trick winning the Achanta Assembly seat.

Kanna Lakshminarayana, who stayed on in Congress, lost from Guntur West.

This was Kanna's first electoral defeat after he was elected to the state Assembly for five consecutive terms.

S Sailajanath, former minister who remained indecisive about jumping over to other parties, lost from Singanamala Assembly segment.