Ebola Outbreak: Lanka suspends on-arrival visa facility for 4 African nations

Written by Press Trust of India | Colombo | Updated: Aug 22 2014, 19:35pm hrs
Sri Lanka has suspended on-arrival visa facility for visitors from four African countries in the wake of Ebola epidemic in Africa, officials said.

External Affairs Ministry officials said privilege to obtain visa on arrival has been suspended for visitors from Nigeria, Liberia, Sierra Leone and Guinea with immediate effect.

The decision to suspend on arrival visa to visitors from these countries were taken after request made by the Health Ministry.

It will continue until further notice, a ministry official said. However, people from these countries can still apply for a visa through Lankan embassies overseas.

Ebola causes severe fever and, in the worst cases, unstoppable bleeding. It is transmitted through contact with bodily fluids, and people who live with or care for patients are most at risk.