Coalmin deallocates 8 blocks

Written by Press Trust of India | kolkata | Updated: Nov 18 2012, 07:21am hrs
Move hurts companies that did not develop blocks within the stipulated time-frame

The ministry of coal has issued deallocation letters for eight coal blocks following a decision by the inter-ministerial group.

The government has issued letters for at least eight coal blocks given to a single company or jointly, ministry sourcestold PTI. Among companies affected by the deallocation were Grasim Industries, Gujarat Ambuja Cement, Lafarge, Electrotherm and Kesoram Industries. Coal Minister Sriprakash Jaiswal has said that the process to deallocate 13 blocks was underway.

The blocks were deallocated by the government as they were not developed within the stipulated timeframe, and for which no satisfactory explanations were given.The blocks deallocated were Bhaskarpara allocated to Electrotherm India and Grasim Industries. The Durgapur-II/Sariya block was allocated to B D Power, Dahegaon, and Makardhokra-IV block was jointly allocated to IST Steel & Power, Gujarat Ambuja Cement and Lafarge India.

The Gondkhari block was for Maharashtra Seamless, Dhariwal Infra (P) and Kersoram Industries. The Marki Mangli II, III and IV blocks were meant for Virangana Steel and Chinora and Warora (West) for Fieldmining and Ispat. Ramanwara North block in Madhya Pradesh was allocated to SKS Ispat and Power and Nered Malegoan block was given to Gupta Metallics and Gupta Coal.