Atal Behari Vajpayee, L K Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi out of BJPs parliamentary board

Written by PTI | New Delhi | Updated: Aug 27 2014, 08:06am hrs
The generational shift in the Bharatiya Janata Party was complete on Tuesday.

Party founders Atal Behari Vajpayee, L K Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi for long described as the political partys trio were dropped from the BJPs parliamentary board, the highest decision-making body of the saffron party on Tuesday.

In a token gesture, the ailing Vajpayee. and Advani and Joshi, now figure in the new five-member Margdarshak Mandal (guiding group) of the BJP.

Three-time Madhya Pradesh chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and party general secretary J P Nadda are the new entrants to the BJP parliamentary board, which has been reconstituted by party chief Amit Shah.

The two have also been included in the BJPs Central Election Committee, which decides on the party candidates to be fielded in elections. The 12-member Parliamentary Board chaired by Shah now has Modi, Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj, Venkaiah Naidu, Nitin Gadkari, Ananth Kumar, Thawarchand Gehlot, Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Jagat Prakash Nadda and Ramlal as its members. Shah initiated the changes after consultations with top BJP leaders and Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The five-member Margdarshak Mandal also includes Modi and Rajnath Singh. Vajpayee, who had faded away from public life since about a decade back due to his ill health, had however been retained as NDA chairman.

Advani was the working chairman of NDA before the Mori era.

The Central Election Committee was also reconstituted, with firebrand leader from Uttar Pradesh Vinay Katiyar being dropped. Former BJP Mahila Morcha President Saroj Pandey, who was an ex-officio member of this Committee, has been replaced with Vijaya Rahatkar the new Mahila Morcha chief who was earlier the former Aurangabad Mayor.

Jual Oram, a Tribal face and Union tribal affairs minister, marks his entry into the 15-member body. PTI