Arvind Kejriwal holds 'Janta Darbar' on complaints relating to water, electricity

Written by PTI | Ghaziabad | Updated: Dec 26 2013, 17:08pm hrs
AAP KejriwalAAP leader Arvind Kejriwal with party leader Manish Sisodiya in New Delhi. (PTI)
Aam Aadmi Party convener Arvind Kejriwal today held a 'Janta Darbar' outside his Kausambhi residence where many people put forward their complaints relating to water and electricity.

Interacting with those present, Kejriwal said, "This is not my win, it is yours.I know that most of you have come here to congratulate me, but I would say this is your win."

Lawyers, engineers and students were among those who participated in the durbar. Some of the people requested Kejriwal to take up security cover offered by Delhi Police.

"Arvindji, you have become our leader now.You should agree to take security cover being offered by Delhi Police," said Mukesh, a resident of Allahabad.

Besides complaints regarding water and electricity, people also requested that AAP should form a team of lawyers to fight their cases free of cost.

"There are a lot of people who are not able to bear expenditure on legal cases.We demand that AAP should form a team of lawyers who would fight their case at free of cost," said Prakash Singh, a lawyer by profession.

AAP volunteers, who came from Delhi, Rajasthan, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh and also one from Russia, participated in Kejriwal's Janta Darbar.

Kejriwal said, "I have heard yours complaints and suggestions and I would definitely work on them.I invite you to participate in the swearing-in ceremony to be held in Ramlila Maidan on Saturday."

The AAP convener had yesterday also held a 'Janta Darbar' at his residence to listen to people's grievances and suggestions.

Kejriwal, who led Aam Admi Party to a spectacular victory in the assembly polls ending Congress' 15-year rule, will take oath as Delhi's seventh Chief Minister tomorrow at historic Ramlila Maidan.

45-year-old Kejriwal and six other AAP MLAs will be sworn-in in a public ceremony at 12 PM to which Anna Hazare, Kiran Bedi, Santosh Hegde and all those associated with the anti-corruption movement will be invited.

The cabinet ministers to take oath along with Kejriwal are Manish Sisodia, Rakhi Birla, Somnath Bharti, Saurabh Bhardwaj, Girish Soni and Satendra Jain.