4 BJP faces on TV inducted into Narendra Modi ministry

Written by PTI | New Delhi | Updated: May 27 2014, 03:57am hrs
Four known faces in BJP who have aggressively pitched for the party on television or as party spokespersons have made their way into the Narendra Modi ministry.

Inducted into the cabinet are Ravi Shankar Prasad, a former Chief Spokesperson of the party and Smriti Irani, who gave a tough fight to Rahul Gandhi in Amethi.

Two party spokespersons Prakash Javadekar and Nirmala Sitharaman have been made Ministers of State with Independent Charge.

Incidentally, both Javadekar and Sitharaman had missed out on getting Rajya Sabha berths.

Javadekar, who has been a Rajya Sabha member of the party from Maharashtra, failed to get another term as NDA ally Republican Party of India's Ramdas Athawale had to be accommodated.